GNEW XXX

But, if the rumors I’ve heard about why S&M War was changed didn’t actually cause the change in the name, then it would have been S&M XXX, and that right there is the type of thing that makes the SCA that much more fun.

Anyway, it was one of the most interesting GNEWs I’ve attended, and that’s just the weather! GNEW is normally the hottest weekend of the summer – unless you’re attending Pennsic – until this year where it was cooler and rainier than I remember seeing it. I do recall other rainy GNEWs, but not THIS cold and rainy. Luckily we got our new (three days to be built) tent. We LOVE it, and I was finally warm at night. I’m cold every night at GNEW every year, even when it’s extremely hot during the day, but this cold GNEW I was warmer than ever, and finally have a tent that truly suits me!

20160708_114857_HDR

Some of the best parts of the weekend were hanging out with old friends, meeting new friends, teaching new and continuing tablet weaving. But the most shocking part was at Court. I normally don’t sit through all of Court, if any of it, but I knew a good friend had been working on something, so I thought there might be an AoA coming at some point, so it’s good to start going. There wasn’t a bunch of friends there, and Stacy hadn’t told me to dress nicely, so I wasn’t at all prepared when they called my name in Court. Even worse was that they mispronounced my name, so I completely missed it the first time they called me. I handed over Dragon and headed up. They were cool that I couldn’t kneel down for them, and they didn’t know who I was, or what I’d done, but they’d been told about me and I was inducted into the Order of The Silver Brooch. I was so shocked that I thought I was going to throw up on the King. At one point my friend Peter thought I was going to pass out and was ready to rush up and catch me. I made it through without keeping over, and Nero was amazingly welcoming – both up there and as we broke down camp the next morning.

I’m officially a Lady, though not sure how I feel about THAT! Just kidding! I was bowled over by the whole thing, and need to hug Adrienne the next time I see her!

This means I need to figure out how to weave the Silver Brooch, which I haven’t taken off the medal but a couple times since I got it, but tonight it’s going into my kit for events.

20160710_122031_HDR

And here is my absolutely beautiful scroll!

20160711_182810_HDR

I can’t wait to get my device passed so I can get it all filled in.

One thought on “GNEW XXX

Leave a Reply

