Going Strapless

I know I’m going to be doing a lot of backtracking, because there’s a year of weaving, a year of growth, that I want to look at and have a record of, but right now I’m so excited about a project I’m working on that I just have to get it out!

About two weeks ago Sam, the youngest of my children, picked out a dress for me. Normally I don’t wear strapless dresses as I have quite a rack, and at 41, it’s not where it was when I was 21! But Sam has a fantastic eye for clothes, for other people, sadly she can barely dress herself on a good day, and she just turned 11, is in the 6th grade. But put her in a store, and she can find the best pieces of clothing for the most amazing prices. I’ll admit that I can be quite cheap, so when she found this dress at Target for all of $7.48, and it was so me (other than being strapless), I was all up in that. Add in that I hadn’t even thought about what I was going to be wearing to Stacy’s (the boyfriend) convention dinner coming up the end of the month, and I was sold.

2014-10-22 20.09.01

So I have this dress, but it’s strapless, so what’s the next step? Putting straps on it, of course. But, with my loom, why bother trying to find something to make the straps out of, when I can make the straps myself? Of course the pink/lilac color in the dress is just odd enough that the closest match I could find was DMC floss.

2014-10-22 20.09.12

I learned that DMC floss stretches in a strange way, and doesn’t bounce back, at all. I tried a couple of ideas, but in the end, none of the borders worked, so I went with the original design I planned without thrills.

2014-10-22 20.10.31

I love the band I wove, but it’s not really wide enough to cover my bra straps, so I wove another band, and I’m trying out ways to make the straps work while showing off how interesting they are.

2014-10-22 20.12.09

While I haven’t put it all together, I will have to do it soon as I’ll be wearing it less than 48 hours from now! I’ll post pictures to show how it all came out.

KB

Leave a Reply

