Introduction…

I wanted to start here by explaining why I’m starting this blog, and what I hope to accomplish with it.

I’ve been involved with the SCA for over twelve years, and while it’s a huge part of my life, it’s not all I do. Because of that, I’ve forgotten things I’ve done over the years, don’t recall patterns and garb I’ve made (sometimes that’s a good thing), and I’m not sure which alcoholic drinks I really did like. Because of all this I’m going to try to keep track of some of these things here – mostly how things are made, the research that goes into it, and why it’s medieval, or anachronistic.

Back in the day I went to college for fashion design, but I have to admit that I’ve lost most of what I learned due to being quite ill for the better part of three years. Okay, I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease when I was seven, but 2009-2011 were specifically horrific. So I’m piecing things back together, re-teaching myself how to build clothing the right way, and learning as much as possible about to make medieval garb the way it was made originally. I will fully admit that I have a bad habit of mixing areas and time periods when making my garb, but I’ll get into that more when I explain my persona.

The summer of 2013, I learned about tablet weaving. I’d seen the finish product being sold by merchants, but I’d never seen a loom in action. I met the Little Loom Girl, and ended up buying a loom over the Labor Day 2013 weekend at Harper’s Retreat in Stonemarche, and I’ve been going crazy on it since. I did have to take some time off through the following winter due to Gamer’s Thumb that I got from too much weaving and too much typing. Now I have it in both hands, and possibly more nerve damage, but I’m fighting through it, a little pain won’t stop me! They might call it Gamer’s Thumb and Carpal Tunnel, but I think they’ve been around a lot longer, and our ancestors dealt with the pain and just worked through it.

One last thing before I sign off, I’m also an archer. It took me a long time to get it, and I’m about to put (what I hope are) the final touches on my crossbow to make it so it works. Fingers crossed that this is the last tweak I need to do to get it working. I’ll be writing about how the crossbow came about, and all I went through to get it.

I’m heading to Harvest Moon Shoot and Tyger & Bucket tomorrow at Hebron Pines Campground. I’ll be writing all about it soon. Please, I hope you enjoy this adventure of the SCA with me.

Leave a Reply

